2018 Masters Meet

Saturday 24th November 2018
Alfreton Leisure Centre

Saturday 24th November saw another very successful Etwall Eagles Masters Open Meet, with an entry of nearly 180 swimmers. There was some fierce competition for the Top Club Trophy between Kenilworth Masters and Bedworth Masters with many swimmers from both clubs, and from their neighbours City of Coventry, taking part in all 13 individual events. These events could not take part without the officials and helpers who give their time voluntarily, so many thanks to them. Thank you also to all the swimmers who travel from all over the Midlands and beyond to take part.

Click here for results   including relay splits

Trophy winners were as follows:

          Paul Alderson Trophy (best 50 fly swim): Steve Goodall, Chesterfield S.C.

          Mens Skins trophy          Tom Lambert, Team Luton

          Womens Skins Tropy:     Alex Dobell, Co Coventry

          Record Breaker Trophy: Mary Holland, Long Eaton

          Top Team:                                            Kenilworth Masters

          Top Non Midland Region Team:          Banbury Swimming Club.

Trophies were presented by Ian Davey, President Elect of Derbyshire ASA.

                                   (1)                                                                            (2)


Trophy presentations by Ian Davey to (1) Mary Holland, Record Breaker Trophy, (2) Steve Goodall, Paul Alderson Trophy, and (3) Kenilworth Masters, Top Club Trophy.

2017 Masters Meet

25th November 2017
Alfreton Leisure Centre

Over 160 swimmers from forty different clubs came to Alfreton Leisure Centre on Saturday 25th November 2017 for the 13th Etwall Eagles Masters Open Meet. Thanks to all who attended for making it a successful day and special thanks go to the officials and other helpers without whom the event could not run.

Trophy winners were as follows:

      Paul Alderson Trophy for best 50 fly swim:

James Maskrey, Belper Marlin

      Mens Skins trophy:

Jamie Keyte, Perry Beeches

      Womens Skins Tropy:

Katie Gulliver, Perry Beeches

      Record Breaker Trophy:

Graham Padgett, Warrington Masters

      Top Team:

Kenilworth Masters

      Top Non Midland Region Team:

Banbury Swimming Club.

Trophies were presented by Peter Spink, President of Derbyshire ASA.

Click here for results

2016 Masters Meet

26th November 2016
Alfreton Leisure Centre

Click here for the results

2015 Masters Meet

28th November 2015
Queens Leisure Centre, Derby

28th November saw over 200 masters swimmers from all over England and Wales converging on Queen’s Leisure Centre for the 11th staging of the event.

Events started with the 100IM, there was a good entry for this event as it acted as qualification for the over 40’s ‘skins’ event. Some good swims from Etwall swimmers; Helen Rolle´, Jaq Mann and Chris Rolle´ saw them all qualifying for the skins.

The morning events then followed with a mixture of 25m, 50m and 100m events, with a significant number of swimmers taking part in every event, including a group from Kenilworth Masters, also competing in every event was Mark Jones from Warrington Dolphins, a feat he has repeated for all 11 years that the meet has run.

The 50 fly event is run in memory of our former assistant coach, long time club secretary and founder of the masters section; Paul Alderson. The cup in his memory is presented to the swimmer in the 50 fly with the highest points score, calculated on an age adjusted formula used by the British swimming Masters decathlon competition. This years winner was Mark Patterson, of Calverton and Bingham Swimming Club.

The morning session for most ended with freestyle relays, but for 12 swimmers still had another event, the ‘skins’. For those not familiar with this, 6 swimmers started and the slowest was eliminated, they then raced again with another elimination until 2 swimmers competed for the title. The race distance was 25m, the stroke for each round chosen by drawing out of a hat. Etwall swimmers Chris Rolle´ and Jaq Mann were unlucky with the stroke draw and were eliminated in the first round. Helen Rolle´ got to the last 3 before hitting her weakest stroke backstroke. Both competitions had close finishes, Jill Groves of Kenilworth winning the ladies’ event and Michael Kerslake of Carlton Forum the men’s.

The afternoon session followed a similar format to the morning, and ended with the 6 x 50m freestyle cannon which was won by Etwall A. Trophies were presented by Anne Basford, Derbyshire ASA President, to the skins winners, Kenilworth Masters as the top team, Team Luton as the best non Midland team and to Mary Holland of Long Eaton for beating a meet record by the largest margin. Home age group winners were; Dave Holland, Chris Rolle´, Chris Thorp and Ian Chearman.

None of this would be possible without the many volunteers from within and outside the club, thank you to all.

2014 Masters Meet

29th November 2014
Queens Leisure Centre, Derby

Amiee Ramm

Swimmers from all around the UK converged on Queen's Street, Derby for a special 10th Anniversary staging of the Etwall Eagles Masters Meet.

With the event full to capacity (200 individuals representing 49 clubs) ensured it was an enjoyable occasion.

Congratulations to Kenilworth Masters for retaining the Top Visiting Team trophy, with City of Derby finishing as runners up and Loughborough Town in third.


Well done to Team Luton for being the highest placed non Midland team which scooped them the visiting Eagles trophy.


On the individual front Loughborough Town swimmer Aimee Ramm was victorious in the Paul Alderson Memorial Cup (best points scorer in the 50m Butterfly). A special mention to Lindsay Neil from Chesterfield for her win in the Record Breaker Cup - awarded to the swimmer who broke a meet record by the largest percentage.

Lindsay Neal

In celebration of the 10th staging of the event a number of special additions were added to the programme. An invitational skins was won by Aimee Ramm (Loughborough Town) and David Holmes (East Leeds).

David Holmes

A charity 10x25 relay saw 110 swimmers form teams which were drawn at random at the start of the day. The relay, along with a Massage service on the day raised over £300 for Pancreatic Cancer Research.

Spot prizes were awarded in every 10th heat along with any swimmer who's electronic time ended in .10.

Many thanks to all the visiting Officials and club volunteers who supported the day - without which the meet would not have been possible. 

A provisional date of 28th November has been set for 2015. Full details of next  years event will be posted on the British Swimming website early in the New Year.

A few Etwall swimmers in action...
Etwall 3

For Etwall 1


For Etwall 2

2013 Masters Meet

30th November 2013
Queens Leisure Centre, Derby

Swimmers from all around the UK converged on Queen's Street for the 9th staging of the Etwall Eagles Masters meet. In total 177 entered from 50 different clubs. Congratulations to Kenilworth Masters and Halton Masters for scooping the Top Team awards.

On the individual front well done to Calverton & Bingham swimmer Mark Patterson for his win in the Paul Alderson Memorial Cup (best points scorer in the 50m Butterfly). A special mention to our own Lindsey Gowland for her win in the Record Breaker Cup - awarded to the swimmer who breaks a record by the largest percent.

Many thanks to all the visiting Officials who supported the club - without you this meet would not be possible. Thank you to all the volunteers from the club who came along on the day, again without you the event would not have been possible.

open, meet, masters